Prompted…

… by reading the blog of an old high school friend who has just recently started blogging, and by the call for an MS-bloggers’ Carnival of link love … and, well, just because it’s late and I’m one of those people who sometimes stays up late for no apparent reason…

So, in the interests of blogging and needing a prompt to write about something (because it is late and, while I have things on my mind that I could certainly post about, it is easier to run with this easy idea…) I thought I would take up said high school friend’s idea in progress and blog the alphabet. No, not all in one post; but as a letter at a time, posting a few topics that begin with that letter as they pop into my head… so…

-A- is for…

Accounting The thing that currently keeps me occupied with my head in the books on the weekends and some weeknights, to varying success… I’m doing a Graduate Diploma in Management by distance education with the University of New England in Armidale in NSW. My first unit is ‘Introductory Accounting’. I’m learning all about debits and credits, and current ratios and debt ratios, and how to draw up the various financial statements. If I pass (an assignment worth 35% and an exam worth 65%!!) my employer will reimburse me the course fees – “Noice!” – but, I am finding that it is a lot more time and work than I had expected… Still, if nothing else, I will persevere!

Apricots
I hate ’em! … with a passion! No, really… I pick them out of pre-made muesli and fruit & nut mixes and toss them in the bin. It is due to my immense dislike of apricots, both fresh and dried, that we make our own muesli mix in this house. The apricot lovers can add the vile taste to their muesli, while my muesli can be apricot free.

Ani Difranco I love her! She has been my favourite singer for as long as I’ve had one! (Which wasn’t really definitively until I was at uni and exposed to so much more than I had been in high school listening to radio 3YB.) I still remember the amazing journey of listening to Ani’s ‘Little Plastic Castle’ album, which had been loaned to me by a friend from uni, and deciding that I could definitely listen to it forever. I still love that whole CD because of the memories it brings back to me (and because I know all the words back to front!), but favourite songs are now ‘Freak Show’ and ‘Arrivals Gate’. I’ve seen her live twice, and I am slowly, slowly introducing her to my boyfriend by not always skipping her songs when the iPod is on shuffle on a drive back to my home town.

(Hmmmnm… that was quick and mildly fun! Stay tuned for -B- soon…)

~ by pincushiondiary on March 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Prompted…”

  1. YAY Trish for starting you A-Z encyclopedia! LOL at the apricot thing, that is about the only fruit I love in cereal and fruit and nut mix! Wow at your grad. dip, i can’t imagine going back to study… too hard! Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog 🙂 Sxx

  2. Hi, I apologize for the ‘form’ letter but it is the easiest way to pass word most quickly.

    I am thrilled with the response to the MS Blogger project started at my blog, Brass and Ivory. I appreciate all those who took time to post about it on their blogs. I have discovered even more bloggers who have MS, whether they blog about the MS or not. A new listing is available at MS Blogger Community Project Revised.

    Secondly, I’m looking for submissions for next week’s Carnival of MS Bloggers. Information can be found at the end of each issue archived at Carnival of MS Bloggers. What I’m looking for this week are posts related to creativity. I discovered so many new bloggers who quilt, or knit, or crochet, or write, or photograph, etc. Basically, what do you do to express yourself?

    Thank you so much for participating.

    Lisa Emrich

    P.S. I also apologize for any increased ‘spamming’ of blog comments due to my growing linklist of bloggers with MS. For that I am sincerely sorry.

Leave a Reply

 
