The inconvenience of remote central locking

… especially when combined with an engine immobiliser and a remote that needs a new battery!

A few days ago I looked at my aging car remote and thought, “This is surely going to die soon”, because the soft plastic covering the button had worn completely through and the actual (less comfortable or ergonomic to press or something) button shows through.

Well, this evening after walking from my office to the car carrying the mail drop off for delivery to the mail room tomorrow on the way to work (easing the process by planning to do the task by car because I’d been advised, during this January time of reduced mail services, that there were a few boxes at the mailroom to be collected for staff in my department), I discovered that “soon” = sometime today after I arrived at work. So, not to be initially beaten, I unlocked the car in the traditional way, ie. with the key. I placed my box of mail and other bits and pieces on the back seat, and jumped in to start the car. “Oh yeah… that’s right… I’ve got an engine immobiliser.” When the security is active, the car won’t start without the remote being pressed first. After about a dozen tries of the button hoping that it just had one more press or emission of it’s little remote signal, I resigned myself to the fact that I was going to have to take the bus home and bring back the spare remote tomorrow…

As I wandered from the car (carpark three, for those of you who know my workplace) to the bus stop (near the DMB), I realised that I was carrying about 55c in my purse (an excuse for Peter picking up the bill for the past few days!) and needed to go to the ATM, which would probably make me miss the next bus, thus rendering me stranded for at least half an hour and considering a taxi instead. However, as I started the path towards the ATM, I came upon a folded piece of blue on the ground. Nobody in sight to claim ownership meant that I now had my bus fare, plus $6.50 change, and wouldn’t miss the next bus by having to visit the ATM!
Now I’m just not sure whether to go up the campus tonight with the spare remote to ensure that it works, or risk that it does, ride my bike to work tomorrow morning and check the remote then. I kinda did need an incentive to ride this week, and tomorrow was my possibilty because of the increasing temperatures later in the week, and so… I’ll confer with the man and see what happens.

And I might just drop the $6.50 on the ground near the bus stop for any others in a predicament such as mine!

~ by pincushiondiary on January 7, 2008.

3 Responses to “The inconvenience of remote central locking”

  1. hey Triah, added a link to your blog from my page… now i can keep an eye on you better LOL! Get back into blogging… looking forward to reading your a – z!

    S xx

  2. oops, at the typo TriSh!!

  3. Hi,

    I have an MS Blogger Project underway over at my place. Please visit MS Awareness, Blogging Friends, and a little Link Love to join in.

    Thanks,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
