Why bother?

Last night I was chatting to one of my housemates about blogging. We’d come upon the topic after seeing the news reports of two girls suiciding in eastern Melbourne and the “emo” culture. We travelled along a conversation tangent about various sub-cultures, and our lack of knowledge about them, and I’d made a couple of comments coming out of blogging experiences and observations relating to the way that it (an online experience) can forge real connections and relationships for people (and I remembered this happening in my own life), but can also be dangerous and needs to be viewed/read/written through filters, etc., etc. She’s more of a maths/science brain, so we talked for a bit about why I started (I observed a friend/colleague blogging and thought it looked like a fun creative writing and journalling exercise, whilst also being a new hobby to fill the spare time I had on my hands whilst sitting at a computer, in my past job – shhhh!) and why I continue (Because I know that there are still people out there who subscribe to my feeds or pop in regularly to check if I’ve posted, and I still have moments in life which I classify as ‘bloggable’, ie. “That’s a bloggable event/offence!” etc.).
Today, I logged into bloglines and read the amassed new entries of someone who reads my blog from the US (have no idea how they found my blog, suspect it was from googling “MS blogs” or the like, but am happy – mightily chuffed, one could even say! – that I now have two readers, this one and this one, of varying regularities, from abroad!) and saw an old entry where one of these bloggers was tagged to state the same. My response to the question/s, also coming out of the conversation mentioned above, is that sometimes I don’t know why I continue to blog, and, it’s stating the obvious to say, that this is part of the reason why I don’t always blog often (also wrapped up with being in a busier role at work, therefore no mini-breaks for blogging as with pre-08/2004, and not desiring to sit at a crappy, hand-me-down PC in my bedroom after work, and also not always being at home after work now that I have a dashing young man to keep me occupied and entertained!).
However, I keep this blog, and the other blog (though really must look at ways to archive my posts from the MS Challenge blog, especially those that are about the journey of MS and the fundraising and the trip, more so than the posts updating who donated what) and will do so until the marvellous Tony kicks me off his space. And even then, I’ll possibly find somewhere else to post my ramblings. There is some kind of growth in the cathartic exercise of venting frustrations and sharing observations with a hidden audience, some known to me, some not. I don’t often blog personal stuff, and anything remotely personal that is blogged is usually only blogged after being shared in real life with my nearest and dearest.
My housemate is currently looking for a creative outlet of some sort, and I suggested that she look at a few blogs (mine and a few that i regularly visit) and perhaps consider something like a blog that is the high/low of each week or a basic photo blog using her point ‘n shoot digital camera… Time will tell whether she takes up the idea, and I’ll tell you of the blog’s existence only when I have permission to do so (if I am to learn of it at all, that is).

~ by pincushiondiary on April 24, 2007.

One Response to “Why bother?”

  1. WOOT! 🙂

    Carry on.

Leave a Reply

 
