Squeezing in a post at the end of lunch break …

The other day as I drove to work, I saw a girl riding a bike the same as mine. FYI, my bike is way cooler because I’ve ditched the dorky reflectors and don’t have a red hooter instead of a bell. Still, it was odd to be reminded that, yes, I ride a factory-produced item. Although, this is also the case with my car. But it doesn’t invoke the same response. I see more cars like my car all the time though (well, it is a Corolla), I’m used to it, and I even used to get a bit of a kick out of it when my car was new [to me] and in better condition than the match that I drove past.

Today, the stepping outside myself picture of me riding my bike was completed when, at the same intersection, I saw a guy wearing a backpack the same as mine. He had an ankle reflector (my newest bike accessory) on too. I put this image and the image of the girl on the same bike together and saw myself on my bike as others might see me.

Nothing earth shattering. Not even an epiphany. Just a little tale about my observations of my world when I’m waking up on the drive to work …

~ by pincushiondiary on May 29, 2006.

 
