Happy New one

Well, after grand intentions of using the New Year public holiday to catch up on blogging (and actually do my first post post-move to this new address!) , I instead sat and deleted much spam and then had to get up for a stretch and didn’t make it back to the ‘puter … Housies decided to get a DVD (The Island – liked it a lot and recommend it ) and I ended up going to bed late with the linger after-effects of an afternoon cup of coffee dictating that I did not get to sleep until close to 1:00am the morning before my first day back at work for 2006. So, here I sit at my computer, for my last week in this office, having read all the emails and deleted all the spam and wished the few colleagues who have bothered to come in to work today a happy new year …

The Christmas round-up …

Sunday before Christmas: our house’s Christmas dinner and KK present exchange. Loads of fun and lots of champagne consumed! I gave to J, J gave to M, M gave to L and L gave to me. Worked out quite nicely from pulling names out of a bucket, and eveyone got a nice gift. L was sent to the “naughty chair” for being extra silly, and the night ended with us watching U2 DVDs and making early [secret] resolutions for the new year.

Thursday before Christmas: Had an early Christmas dinner with B, J & X, and housemate Leanne, in Hoppers Crossing, stayed the night and then had an early Christmas morning on Friday so that they didn’t have to take all of X’s presents back to Tassie … Was really lovely to do the Santa presents thing with my Godson, and to watch his 2-and-a-half-year-old response to presents under the tree. Open a present, exclaim “Wow!”, playwith the toy for 5-10 minutes, repeat x 4 … Help Mum and Dad and Aunty Trish open their presents too … Very cute!
Arrived in the ‘bool just after lunch on Friday, which surprised my family because they weren’t expecting me until much later in the day/evening.

Christmas eve: Visited my cousin and the new baby on Saturday, and spent a lovely few hours there having cuddles and catch-up chats (cuddles of the baby, chats with the parents!). Went to family Christmas Eve Church service, where my sister was in the nativity play as the Arch-Angel Gabriel, and my cousin sang a solo. Finished the day in front of the TV, watching carols service and sipping Baileys …

Christmas day was a relaxed and quiet affair. Morning present unwrapping routine; traditional visit to someone we used to live next door to (champagne @ 10:30am!); small lunch; family game in the afternoon; visit from my brother and his new girlfriend [ohh … BTW, the wedding didn’t happen, and I don’t think I ever blogged about that … will maybe one day … or maybe not]; then dinner with just the immediate family.
Scored: Hair straightener & hair dryer, the two Bridget Jones DVDs, new summer PJs, a couple of singlet tops, “voucher” for Mum to take me shopping for something at a local boutique, various little things like chocolates and lip balms etc., hand knitted scarf (browns, golds & ambers – very nice & different to any that I already have), and other bits & pieces that I can’t remember right now …

Boxing day – over the past 5 or 6 years we have held a BBQ for extended family as a chance to catch up during the festive season. We did this once again this year, though will probably have a break from it next year because our energy for it is waning. Was still good opportunity to see people, even amidst the heated discussions about local council politics and other *scintilating* topics of conversation … Me and my younger cousins decided we’d go into another room and play “Killer” Uno instead.

New Year round up tomorrow when I’m slacking off again … maybe …

~ by pincushiondiary on January 3, 2006.

 
