Local paper readings

I spent my lunch break today reading about half a dozen of the past weeks’ Thursday editions of the local paper from “home”. The colleague who had been bringing them up to me each week when he came to LTU to teach has not been in for at least that long, and on the event of his visit today he presented me with a big pile of the local newspaper!

Saga story:
Hopes for a permanent rescue helicopter for the Shipwreck Coast have once again been dashed as a major backer limits their involvement after once again failing to reach an agreement with the State Government. [Thursday June 23, 2005]

Slightly humorous stories:

Rescuers fight to save bull! – Traffic was diverted and an Angus bull had to be put down after it fell off a trailer on a busy Warrnambool road and sustained a broken leg and other injuries. [Thursday July 14, 2005]

Broom blast! – A Colac teen suffered serious burns after an explosion caused by sweeping the garage floor. (The broom was nylon, the carpet on the floor was nylon, and the room contained petrol vapours, which ignited from the nylon-on-nylon static spark.) [Thursday July 14, 2005]

Sad story:
… The 17 sympathy notices in the “Deaths” section for a local two-year-old boy who died last week after a long and courageous battle with a rare form of brain cancer. He had attended the Warrnambool Uniting Church Child Care Centre, of which my Mum is the director, and he was the son of a friend I had when in high school. R.I.P. Jesse Brooks. When I was about fifteen, I used to have a crush on your daddy, and I know that my mum and the child-care centre staff miss you a lot.

~ by pincushiondiary on August 10, 2005.

 
