My pharmacist and me

I’ve been meaning to blog this post for a number of weeks now … [Apologies for the delay and the resulting anticipation/disappointment cycle, Monid!] I’ve mentioned my relationship with my pharmacy in the past, but haven’t mentioned how that relationship had developed …

When I was doing the Easter egg basket raffle back … oooh, at about Easter time [!] … I wandered into the pharmacy with the shiny and colourful basket of chocolate eggs and rabbits tucked under my arm to try to sell some raffle tickets as I purchased my monthly prescription. This led to the opportunity to speak about the fundraising challenge that Leanne and I are taking part in this year. After that, a greater familiarity was present when I called into the pharmacy to order and collect my prescriptions. Since I had started getting my immunotherapy drugs at the LTU pharmacy, I had developed a familiarity and friendliness with the pharmacy staff. In particular, with the pharmacist, Monid. It was a real comfort to be able to walk into the pharmacy and ask for my medication to be ordered without actually giving over any details at all. I also found it comforting to have a pharmacist who knew my name and who took an interest in my condition, by suggesting lethicin on my breakfast cereal and asking me how I was going.

When I had made the books of tickets for the second fundraising raffle that I am running (1st prize is a weekend for two on the Shipwreck Coast: two night’s accommodation at a B&B in Warrnambool, passes to the Flagstaff Hill Maritime Museum and the Shipwrecked sound and light show, passes to the Cudgee Wildlife Park, and meal vouchers), I popped into the pharmacy in between my regular monthly visits to ask Monid if she would be happy to have a couple of books for sale on the counters. When I also told her about the trivia night and our quest for heaps of prizes, she volunteered a donation from the pharmacy and also showed great enthusiasm for coming along to the night itself. Her genuine enthusiasm for the cause and her recognition of why the cause is so important to me made me feel really supported. Supported by someone in a part of my life that I wouldn’t ordinarily expect support from. We tend to tell our pharmacist about our medical ailments and pay attention to the directions that they give us about dosages and so forth, but as a general rule we don’t swap e-mail addresses or mobile phone numbers with them! This exchange would normally blur the line of professional and personal. I think Monid was conscious of this professional/personal line when she very tentatively asked me if I happened to have a blog called, “Perseverant Pincushion”! She had come across my blog through another somehow, and over time made the connection that I was the author, after piecing together references to LTU and MS and the sub heading ‘Trish’s blog’. It’s a small world when you make the connection that someone you see regularly and who you didn’t tell about your blog is a regular reader!

It was disappointing then to receive an e-mail from Monid where she mentioned not being happy at the pharmacy due to relationships with one or two of the other staff members. Then it was even more disappointing to read an e-mail from her where she told me that she had resigned and was leaving the LTU pharmacy to go to another pharmacy. I felt really sadden by this news, as I knew that the days of wandering into the pharmacy just to say “Hello” on my way past were soon to be over. I made sure that I popped in to say farewell to Monid on her last day. I didn’t need to get a repeat of my prescription, or I would have just to get her to dispense it for me one more time. I had wanted to get something small to give her to say farewell, but had been too disorganised to do so. I was a little embarrassed to then see that she had bought me a small box of chocolates as a parting gift! How thoughtful and considerate that she would buy a farewell present for me when it was she who was leaving!? Further e-mails between the two of us have revealed a common faith connection. She attends a large church in the East that a few friends of mine also attend, and about which I once made a generalised derogatory comment. Once again, it’s a small world!

This kind of interaction reminds me that I really like the way that sometimes people come into your life for a short time and make you feel special and accepted, and then leave your life after leaving a really nice impression. You might cross paths in the future, and e-mails may continue in a relatively infrequent manner for some time to come, but the original status of the relationship will never return … I also think about how in the blogging world, we develop a familiarity with a few people through reading their regular posts and gain an insight (of sorts) into their personality and their life. While we have to read everything that is being said with the acknowledgement of what is not being said, I still find this phenomenon of blogging to be an interesting way of opening up my world to the lives and thoughts and situations and experiences of others. Not to say that these people have in any way replaced the importance of the real people in my life (after all, I am a quality time girl!), but reading their thoughts and stories certainly brings added emotion of enjoyment and peace and sorrow to my day-to-day life.

~ by pincushiondiary on July 2, 2005.

2 Responses to “My pharmacist and me”

  1. Thanks Trish…you know what? I have tears running down my cheeks as I was reading thru this entry today…hehe

    You are indeed very kind and I treasure our friendship very much even we havent seen each other since the day I left LTU pharmacy..

    Hm….perhaps we should catch up one day?! =P

    Misses

  2. […] Last night I was chatting to one of my housemates about blogging. We’d come upon the topic after seeing the news reports of two girls suiciding in eastern Melbourne and the “emo” culture. We travelled along a conversation tangent about various sub-cultures, and our lack of knowledge about them, and I’d made a couple of comments coming out of blogging experiences and observations relating to the way that it (an online experience) can forge real connections and relationships for people (and I remembered this happening in my own life), but can also be dangerous and needs to be viewed/read/written through filters, etc., etc. She’s more of a maths/science brain, so we talked for a bit about why I started (I observed a friend/colleague blogging and thought it looked like a fun creative writing and journalling exercise, whilst also being a new hobby to fill the spare time I had on my hands whilst sitting at a computer, in my past job – shhhh!) and why I continue (Because I know that there are still people out there who subscribe to my feeds or pop in regularly to check if I’ve posted, and I still have moments in life which I classify as ‘bloggable’, ie. “That’s a bloggable event/offence!” etc.). Today, I logged into bloglines and read the amassed new entries of someone who reads my blog from the US (have no idea how they found my blog, suspect it was from googling “MS blogs” or the like, but am happy – mightily chuffed, one could even say! – that I now have two readers, this one and this one, of varying regularities, from abroad!) and saw an old entry where one of these bloggers was tagged to state the same. My response to the question/s, also coming out of the conversation mentioned above, is that sometimes I don’t know why I continue to blog, and, it’s stating the obvious to say, that this is part of the reason why I don’t always blog often (also wrapped up with being in a busier role at work, therefore no mini-breaks for blogging as with pre-08/2004, and not desiring to sit at a crappy, hand-me-down PC in my bedroom after work, and also not always being at home after work now that I have a dashing young man to keep me occupied and entertained!). However, I keep this blog, and the other blog (though really must look at ways to archive my posts from the MS Challenge blog, especially those that are about the journey of MS and the fundraising and the trip, more so than the posts updating who donated what) and will do so until the marvellous Tony kicks me off his space. And even then, I’ll possibly find somewhere else to post my ramblings. There is some kind of growth in the cathartic exercise of venting frustrations and sharing observations with a hidden audience, some known to me, some not. I don’t often blog personal stuff, and anything remotely personal that is blogged is usually only blogged after being shared in real life with my nearest and dearest. My housemate is currently looking for a creative outlet of some sort, and I suggested that she look at a few blogs (mine and a few that i regularly visit) and perhaps consider something like a blog that is the high/low of each week or a basic photo blog using her point ‘n shoot digital camera… Time will tell whether she takes up the idea, and I’ll tell you of the blog’s existence only when I have permission to do so (if I am to learn of it at all, that is). […]

Leave a Reply

 
