Anyone got happy news?

Can I just curl up under my desk and rock myself to sleep today?

I really couldn’t be bothered from the tick of midnight onwards today … I worried myself to sleep last night with concerns about a potential family crisis after my mum called earlier in the evening, and then this morning (after dragging myself out of bed and into the shower and then to work) I discovered that a friend’s grandfather died the other day and his wife, who has just had a recent round of chemotherapy, is in a not-so-good condition after surgery for a ruptured bowel and may also die this week … I just sat down over lunch to read the local paper that I have delivered to me each week by a colleague, who also hails from the South-West, to discover that the week before last the grandfather of my ex-boyfriend died. He was a really lovely man, with a heart of gold and a strong faith, who always loved to chat and always made me feel very welcome at family gatherings. And I know that his family will miss him greatly …

Seriously, any happy news today?? … anyone?? … anything??

~ by pincushiondiary on June 21, 2005.

6 Responses to “Anyone got happy news?”

  1. Oh how I’d love to regale you with a happy tale, but alas, nothing comes to mind… Such a sad day for you. I hope things start to head in the “up” direction for you tomorrow (if not later today!)

  2. Thanks, Rae … But it didn’t get any better …
    It got worse, in fact … 😦
    Ah well, tomorrow is another day!
    (I’m blaming today on the Winter solstace)

  3. Nothing I can think of to spark you up, but there are Trish sticks at TT’s if you feel the need!

    ((hugs))

  4. Well, I’ve STILL got a sore back and today my car died, needing major expensive repairs….. my day hasn’t been any better than yours. Surely someone has good news?

  5. It’s a couple of days late, but my 5-week-old baby smiled at me for the first time today … does that count?

  6. A smiling baby makes me smile … so, yes! Thanks, Kathy! 😀
    P.S. I’m less blue today, and will be less stressed about stuff when the weekend is over. I can elaborate then …

Comments are closed.

 
