“Ahhhh!” – a blissful sigh of relief!

It’s a public holiday tomorrow!! It’s a public holiday tomorrow!!

It’s my last public holiday ’til Christmas (Cup Day is not a university holiday) and I’m soooo very pleased that it is Sunday night and I don’t have to go to work tomorrow … It’s a feeling good for the soul and spirit!

And the long weekend has so far been just lovely:

Friday night was spent having a delicious dinner with delightful people. Lots of fun and laughter with a few people who are part of the ‘Solace’ community, some of who I had been wanting to get to know a bit better. I share a surname with one of them, though she and I have not been able to carry-off our plan to convince people that we are distantly related on the two occasions that we have tried … We need to: 1) come up with a convincing scenario in which we discover the distant link between our two ‘Austin’ families; and, 2) develop the ability to keep a straight face while we announce of discovery to people. Neither of us have the necessary poker face! A bit of a game of ‘Taboo’ made for a well-rounded evening of good food, good wine and great company & conversation!

Yesterday, I was entrusted by B & J to babysit the little X-man for the first time ever … Sure, I have taken him for walks and stayed with him while Mum and/or Dad popped to the shops etc., but yesterday was the first time that there was a definite plan for Xavier to stay with Aunty Trish at her house while Mum and Dad went somewhere for a couple of hours. There was certainly an element of truth in my joking about hoping I wouldn’t break him, or hoping that he wouldn’t be crying for Mum & Dad for the whole time they were gone …

We wandered in the back yard for a while, not at all upset at the departure of Mum & Dad. A couple of confused searches for “Mum? Dad?” and glances over his shoulder, but at the suggestion of a walk to the park, Xavier had immediately grabbed his bag and his stuffed ‘Winnie the Pooh’ and was heading out the door. We headed for the park down the road, me hoping all the way there that the playground equipment wasn’t too wet; I didn’t want to create the excitement of the playground, then to simply take it away when discovering that everything was too wet to play on. Fortunately, most things were dry and Xavier and I had fun wandering around with the place to ourselves. One of the handiest things about the playground near us, is that it is enclosed by a safety fence; I could keep an eye on him and also know that he wasn’t even close to being able to run onto the road. I soon tired of the repetitiveness of going down the slide over and over and over again, but Xavier kept on climbing up the difficult and high ladder to go down the slide intended for kids bigger than two years-old! I never tired of it too much though, and took delight in the time we were spending having fun on the swings and see-saw and slide together.

One of the sweetest, and slightly funny [okay … very amusing], things that we all discovered for sure yesterday was that, in his ever-increasing vocabulary, Xavier has started to say my name. However, ‘Aunty Trish’ is pretty difficult to say, and what we have discovered (after hearing it many times and reaching the point of being completely sure of what he was saying …) is that I am “oiff”. Basically, it sounds like … as close as you can get to “woof” but slightly different … I’m now referred to as “woof” by all the adults, but I love the fact that my Godson knows who I am and can say my name and says “hewow oiff” and “aye uv oo oiff”. I love the fact that he loves to answer the question, “What’s your name little boy” very proudly with the answer, “avvieer Pew-wy” [Xavier Perry]. He’s two years-old and growing up so very quickly … I just want to eat him up sometimes because he is so very cute and so very precious! I don’t know how parents can cope when their children hurt themselves either … Xavier was running around in just his pyjama top and his socks after an attempt to go to the big toilet (we have no potties at this house!) and slipped over on our floorboards and hit his nose hard. He was screaming and blood was pouring down his face and I just wanted to cry with him … Fortunately it happened when both his Mum and nurse Leanne were on hand to know what to do. I am soooo going to need some lessons before I become a parent! And I was exhausted after just an afternoon spent with a toddler … I don’t know how Mums do it all-day, every day!?

Tonight, my housemate and I are finally going to see ‘Episode III’ (because I can no longer wait to go with the other friends who I was going to go with …) and then tomorrow we are off to Ballarat to visit our friends and their new baby, Ella Nicole. She was born a month ago, and this is the first time I have had a chance to pay the family a visit. Another bonus of a long weekend! I might have been meeting her for the first time at her second birthday party otherwise …

And my housemate just slid across the loungeroom floor in front of me in his socks … Careful, or you’ll fall over like Xavier!

J: Are you blogging?
Me: … yep …

… to which he then replied after going to the toilet …

J: If I had’ve been doing a number two then, I could’ve replied, “Well, I’m bogging!” …

I think he was disappointed to not be able to use that clever reply for real, but he’ll be stoked to see that his witty sense of humour [?] has made it to my blog nonetheless.

Will try to find the time to blog a bit more tomorrow … am way behind with many thoughts and posts, which is frustrating me a little …

~ by pincushiondiary on June 12, 2005.

 
