One-handed post

Sometimes, I think it would be better if I were more regimented in adhering to the tasks set out in my job description, because then I would be less likely to attempt to dislodge the jam in the stapler in the corridor and ask someone with tougher hands to do it. The ‘just because I’m female doesn’t mean I don’t have the strength to do it’ mentality doesn’t sit well with me either… I had to attempt to do it before succumbing to the need to ask someone with testosterone and brute strength to do it…

But now, I sit here typing one-handed as I cradle my left hand in a (slightly ineffective) ice pack. Instead of forcing the jammed stapler opened, I managed to pinch a great chunk of finger on my left hand with the pliers. I am now sporting a rather large blood blister (about the size of a five cent piece, but not as round) and it is beginning to throb… Ouchie!

Even more bemusing is that in the past ten minutes I have conversed with a couple of staff members, and even attempted to fish things out of a pile of paperwork for them whilst one-handed, all with bright blue ice-pack attached to my hand, and not a word was spoken of it. It wouldn’t hurt them to show a smidge of compassion or curiosity…

[Tuesday morning update: It doesn’t look nearly as nasty this morning! I can touch it without any pain, but when I accidentally bump it I am reminded that it is there. The comment about it being a blood blister almost the size of a five cent piece was a slight exaggeration; the bruise is about that big but is only a shadow of a bruise and not very purple at all, and the blister part, it turns out, is really quite small …]

~ by pincushiondiary on May 23, 2005.

One Response to “One-handed post”

  1. Ouch! That sounds very very painful! Hope you are ‘feeling’ better soon.

Leave a Reply

 
