Fundraising suggestion …

I was having a conversation about fundraising with a colleague here in the History department of LTU (after she had caused me to laugh by leaning very close to the Easter hamper and muttering “Eat the bunnies” a couple of times). We were discussing the best ways of getting money out of our well-paid academics. Her suggestion? Go to ‘Savers’ op-shop and buy an old tweed jacket with leather elbow patches and auction it off to the higest bidding Historian! This suggestion will make me laugh all afternoon …

~ by pincushiondiary on March 7, 2005.

3 Responses to “Fundraising suggestion …”

  1. My dear Miss Pincushion (if I may),

    I would rather work in a mortuary than a university. The mortuary population are a far nicer crowd. And just as humourous.

  2. My dear R.H. (if I may),

    The staff of this university can be rather witty and humerous. Even more so, they can be charming and polite too. The university itself pays quite nicely, and my superannuation fund is growing quite nicely with higher employer contributions.
    As for working in a mortuary, I wouldn’t mind it but for all the dead people. I don’t find dead people to be at all humerous, except for that one bone.

    Sincerely,
    Your dear Miss Pincushion (yes, you may)

  3. Thank you, Miss Trish. You’re good humoured. I admire that. You have a cheery personality too; light and breezy, which means you’ll have no trouble finding a good husband.

    I was referring to academics, mainly. I haven’t any doubt at all that they are charming, but I would challenge any opinion that says they are humourous.

    I have written this: A humourous academic is as rare as an honest pimp.

    I stand by it.

    Your servant (always),
    Robert.

Leave a Reply

 
