Excited!

Yayyyyyyyyyayayayyyyyyyyyyyyyyayayayyy …
[deep breath]
… yayayayayyyyyyaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyy!!!

We’re going to Sri Lanka! We’re going to Sri Lanka!

My housemate, Leanne and I have been thinking about the idea of doing this for ages. Originally the dates for the trip were a bit awkward – my brother’s wedding fell right in the middle of the fortnight. The dates have now been changed to 20/11 – 1/12 (mostly for my benefit – cool!) and I’ve spoken to my colleagues and my future sister-in-law … Everyone is in support of me doing this! And that’s without knowing the full details of my life, too …

I was worried that my future sister-in-law would get stressed at the prospect of me being overseas doing a fortnight-long bike ride and only getting back into the country a day and a half before the wedding. But, not surprisingly, she is so encouraging and enthusiastic and supportive of my decision to do this ride! Although, she has already warned me not to break any bones!

My admin colleague is happy to hold down the fort while I’m gone, in what will be a very busy time of the year. She too is very supportive and saying things like, “You’ll regret it if you don’t do it!” The head of department also seems fine with it, and has already asked how people will be able to support me in it (once again, without knowing the full story), and has very hesitantly asked if I’ll be selling chocolates again (I sold some last year to raise money for a holiday program that I’m involved with, and he was my best customer!). I think he’s worried about his waistline …

Now, I just need to run it past the person who has to approve my leave applications, put in the forms to the MS Society and raise $5,000 in 10 months. Easy!

~ by pincushiondiary on February 16, 2005.

5 Responses to “Excited!”

  1. Fantastic! Congrats! What a great thing to do.

  2. Wow, that’s awesome! I guess you’ll have a fair bit of training to do… Can you give us a map so we know where you’ll be going?

  3. That is, where in Sri Lanka you’ll be going. I am familiar with the general characteristics of the Indian sub-continent and the island nation’s relation to it!

  4. Thanks for clarifying, Mel! 🙂
    We have an itinerary, and I must say I have not yet pulled out the atlas to see where in Sri Lanka all the places are … Must be that I don’t really care where exactly we’re going, just that we’re going! I’ll have a look and see what I can creatively do to show you … a map with squiggly lines and little bikes drawn all over it?!

  5. No longer a lurker… and what an amazing thing to do. As I said to you last night, it could be fun to join you, but we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

 
