Coincidental Readings

Amongst other books, I am currently reading a novel called Rebecca’s Tale by Sally Beauman. It is a rewrite of the Daphne du Maurier novel Rebecca. I only learned this when I was about half way through reading the book, and have not read Rebecca or any other du Maurier novels.

Last Friday, I was reading during my lunch break as I usually do. I reached a break in the story and took a sip of my drink. Upon resuming my reading, I read:

“It was 5 November 1914: that was the day I first came to Manderley. It was the week of my birthday and it was Guy Fawkes night…”

Last Friday was 5 November 2004. Ninety years exactly after the time that I was reading about. I shivered. Creepy coincidence.

~ by pincushiondiary on November 9, 2004.

One Response to “Coincidental Readings”

  1. Ooh – that is a little too freaky. I have never read Rebecca either. Might be my summer read, methinks!

Leave a Reply

 
