Yay for me!

I thought I’d take a break from housework on this dull Saturday afternoon to blog about a significant thing that I thought of as I tidied my bedroom …

Two years ago on Melbourne Cup Day, I was dumped. Awww … At the time, I thought it was the end of the world. After a bit of grieving, I was very clearly able to see that I was much better off without him. On Melbourne Cup Day last year I was reminded of this unhappy anniversary. I reflected on the good and the bad of it, and was still surer than anything that I was better off without him. This year, however, this anniversary didn’t even cross my mind! It was only today, as I thought about getting rid of some junk and remnants of that relationship that are still hanging around (shoebox full of memories that need a purging burn), did I realise that I have now been happily single for two years! Maybe not always happily single, and certainly not happily single to the extent that I always want to remain single … but I’ve weathered some pretty big personal storms in the past two years, and have come out the other side strong and independent and confident and happy! Yay for me.

~ by pincushiondiary on November 6, 2004.

5 Responses to “Yay for me!”

  1. Good for you. Whether in a relationship or not, personal growth and happiness is the best goal for anyone to have and to achieve. Hopefully the future will bring you a great new person in time, and you’ll probably be able to make the most of it all the more for this learning time alone.

  2. Yay for you!!

  3. More power to you!

    Having a personal anniversary on a recognised public holiday can be a good or a bad thing, good in that it makes it easy to remember the anniversary itself and bad because if things sour, the holiday itself can become an unpleasant reminder.

    As for the duration of singledom, all in good time.

  4. Well done! It’s always a good thing to note the positive aspects of a “happening”. Even if it was a sad and nagative thing to have happen at the time, it’s certainly turned into a postive and happy one now! Good for you!

  5. Thanks ladies! T’was lovely to check and see such uplifting comments from y’all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
