Cup Day Outfits

Last night I observed two women standing outside the Beehive Hotel on the corner of Church Street and Barkers Road in Hawthorn …

Both ladies were wearing hats. One pink, the other black.
= A clear sign that they had been to the races.

Both were standing outside the door to a pub.
= A fairly strong indication that they had been consuming alcohol.

One was shaking her finger at the other. Hmmm, me thinks that this is not a friendly conversation …
= A clear sign of a disagreement or argument.

The reason or cause of the argument?

Aha! They were both wearing the same dress! (And I don’t think it was one of those group things where 10 people/men dress up in the same shocking outfit!)

~ by pincushiondiary on November 3, 2004.

2 Responses to “Cup Day Outfits”

  1. I too passed crowds of people waiting at the tramstop, heading off to the races at the frightful hour of 7am. As i was heading off to the country, dutifully dressed in my oldest jeans,two jumpers,a cardie, a beanie, and a coat, and the obligatory blunnies, i was horrified to see hoardes of girls dressed in tiny scraps of fabric ( i think that alannah hill calls them dresses),and just a flower or two to keep them warm…. youth today.. not like when I were young……….

  2. Ahhh, Alannah Hill dresses … I like the look of them, alas they never fit over my buxom breasts or my large bottom (aka realistic body size)!

Comments are closed.

 
