Visiting duck here to stay!

For the benefit of those who don’t always read the comments that are posted on entries, my housemate, has just said:

Well Trish, in the words of the grinning Parks Victoria man I spoke to this morning,
“Congratulations, you’re now the owner of a duck. She most likely just wants a safe place to lay her eggs. And if she decides that she doesn’t like your backyard (like if we had a cat or dog), then she will just fly away.”
Apparently the chlorinated swimming pool will be no problem because they are such hardy creatures.
So hooray!! We have a pet!

duck.jpg

It also appears that I was wrong about the sex of our visiting duck.
Stay tuned for the pictures of ducklings swimming in our pool!

(Post any suggestions for a name in the comments.)

~ by pincushiondiary on September 21, 2004.

13 Responses to “Visiting duck here to stay!”

  1. Definitely looks like an Ethel to me. The dark feathers around the eyes, that just SCREAMS Ethel to me.

  2. Daisy the duck of course!

  3. I almost wrote in the post that I wanted to put a veto on Daisy, Donald and Daffy … I think we can come up with something a bit more original. I’ve always thought that I would call my dog “Defa”, and that works for duck too … hmmm.

  4. I like Vera!

  5. I’m so jealous of your new pet. How about Beryl, after my wonderful mother inlaw.

  6. I don’t know, B … if we call the duck Beryl you might take out your frustrations on her when you come to visit!

  7. Daisy is reserved for cows!

    I think it was Jemima Puddleduck in the Beatrix Potter books, wasn’t it? How about Jemima?

  8. We had a duck that took up residence in our backyard pool a few years ago. She quite happily laid her eggs, did the sitting thing and produced 7 ducklings which promptly started swimming lessons in the chlorine.

    All was going swimmingly (ha!) until getting back out time…

    A big mummy duck can flap to get over the brick edge of a pool.

    Little baby ducks can’t. Well, they can try, but it’s rather ineffective.

    Build them a ramp before they discover this for themselves!

  9. Jemima Puddleduck was a nickname used for a girl Trish and I went to school with, not something I care to be reminded of when glancing out the window at the wild duck pooing in and about our nice clean pool… think about that when you come over for a swim!

    And Dan, didn’t you ever watch the Disney cartoons where Daisy Duck was Donald’s girlfriend??

    So how about Mabel? I liked Ethel, but that name has been used for someone else.

  10. Ditto on the ‘Jemima Puddleduck’ option .. both because of the person I used to know, and also because now I have a good friend called Jemima who doesn’t appreciate the reference (nor the references to ‘Jemimah’ the doll on Play School).
    Mabel is doing it for me a bit … wasn’t that your old lady name in High School, Leanne? I think mine was Matilda … nobody but Leanne has any idea what I am talking about … I’ll go into the recesses of my mind and blog about it one day …
    By the by, this must be the most comments any entry on my blog has ever attracted! Yay for you guys! I like comments. Makes me feel loved and read. Keep ’em coming!

  11. Ah, okay, fair enough, no Jemima. Mabel is good. (Sorry Leanne, I had a Disney-free childhood!)

    By the way, you might be amused at this character description of Jemima from the official Play School web site:

    http://www.abc.net.au/children/play/faces/toys/6.htm

    Jemima is living proof that size is no indication of personal magnetism.

    This diminutive piece of stuffed calico has won her way into the hearts of all. Jemima generally wears jeans or overalls, but has an extensive wardrobe mostly created by a loving ABC wardrobe mistress in the 1970’s, hence her timewarp look.

    Her inability to sit unassisted has been the only limit on her career choices which have included postie, space traveller, horse-rider and acrobat.

  12. Ugh. Comment spam above. *glares at it*

    Cute duck! My other half is jealous. He loves ducks.

  13. Offending spam comments now deleted! So now it looks like Ren is glaring at Daniel’s comment, but that is actually not the case … I was just a little slow in deleting the spam before anyone else noticed (blame it on the Weekend) …

Comments are closed.

 
