what have you driven?

Following on from reading all about Daniel’s car-driving experiences, here is what I can remember of mine …

I mainly learned to drive in my Dad’s late 80s, manual, pale green, Mazda 626 liftback. My driving instructor’s name was Axle, but I don’t remember what kind of car he had … I think it was red (I only needed a couple of official lessons … pretty good, if I do say so myself).

I also did a couple of turns around the block in: my uncle’s pale blue Holden Camira (automatic); the family’s old white Toyota Highace (didn’t like driving in windy weather, and also didn’t like the gear shifter); and, there was that one time that Dad let me have a go on the forklift at his work … His theory was that the heavy steering and reverse action of the forklift would help me to understand … something.

My very own first car was “Winston”. A white 1979 Mazda 626 sedan. I drove all over the place with him … may he rest in peace. My brother drove him for the last of his days. What was interesting was the number of idiosyncracies that “Winston” had developed, that I had come to think of as normal, but that my brother thought were ridiculous and which were too easily fixed.

I’ve driven numerous vehicles of friends & family, notably: Liz’s purple & silver Daddo; Ally’s Daddo, “Milly the Pink Car with Attitude”; both Liz and Ally’s post-Daddo cars; my parents’ early 90s red Toyota Camry; my Mum’s late 80s red Ford Laser; my cousin’s 1998 grey Toyota Camry …

Most notably, I’ve driven a Subaru Impreza, which has the dubious title of being the car that I was driving when I got my one-and-only speeding fine … not too bad for 10 years of driving (including my learner period).

Currently, I drive a white 1998 Toyota Corolla Seca RV … and I luurve my spoiler.

~ by pincushiondiary on July 20, 2004.

One Response to “what have you driven?”

  1. My First Car was the Family Nissan G60 Patrol. It was big, noisy, agricultural and difficult to stop. I had 3 accidents in it which were all my fault. In that I learnt how to not rely on the Brakes.

    I also drove a Mazda Truck. I think it was an E3000. The best memory I have of driving it was trying to chase down a bunny-rabbit which decided to cross the road. Trying to squeeze every Watt of power out of it so I could reach that rabbit, switching gears using the two gear sticks was a challenge. The Rabbit got away to destroy more farmland. That’s how I learnt to select the right gear.

    The First Front Wheel Drive Car I drove was my N14 Pulsar. The suspension had had a bit of wear and tear, and I wasn’t used to FWD. It under-steered in the wet, and I hit the embankment. That’s how I learnt to corner at the correct speed.

    The best Delivery Vehicle I’ve driven was a Mercedes MB100D. It wasn’t terribly powerful, it was very noisy, but had a Turning-Circle which would put a Unicycle to shame, and could take any corner you could throw at it…

Comments are closed.

 
