dollars in my pocket

Following his recent kilometrestone (see entry below), “Olly the Corolla” had to pay a visit to the Toyota-man to get his 100,000km service and a new timing belt …

I dropped him off and was told that the car would be needed all day and the bill that I could expect when I returned to collect my most significant asset after 5:00pm would be somewhere in the vicinity of … $550.00.

Ouch.

Ah, but, I need to take care of faithful Olly … I promised myself that when I upgraded from “Winston” the 1979 Mazda 626 sedan! (Who had done more kilometres than could be counted)

When I returned at the end of the day, at about 5:30pm (to ensure that Olly was all back in one piece and nicely washed too), Phillip (nice Toyota-man) said,

“Now this morning I said that you were looking at somewhere around $550 for the work …”

I held my breath and anticipated the bigger bill …

“I’ve juggled some numbers and managed to bring it in at $494.45.”

Made my day!

$50.00 odd dollars in my pocket, not theirs.

Although, I don’t think it really counts as “in my pocket” when I used the magic plastic to pay for it …

~ by pincushiondiary on June 30, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
