Here’s to the fairytale!

Last weekend I went home to Warrnambool to celebrate the 21st birthday of my younger brother’s girlfriend, Carly …

She had asked me a few weeks ago if I would like to say a few words on the night. I gladly said ‘yes’ at the time, but later regretted my answer as numerous friends reminded me just how bad I am at giving speeches …

“Perhaps you should write down a few notes Trish”
“Maybe you should explain the props you use a bit more clearly …”
“Just don’t drink too much first, Trish!”
Yeah, thanks …

So, the night arrived, I psyched myself up to say a few nice words about someone who, over the past 4 years or so, has become a rather important part of our family. A few hecklers in the crowd (two of my brother’s mates) decided to ask me how many drinks I had consumed (just the one! slowly!), which resulted in the glass of toasting champagne being taken out of my hand for the duration of the short, but sweet, speech …

Ah, the relief that came from wishing Carly a happy 21st birthday successfully …

I soon realised that I was not the only one psyching myself up for the speeches that night …

My brother got up to say a few words. My brother is not a comfortable public speaker. However, he very eloquently thanked everyone for coming and for sharing Carly’s special evening. He went on to say that he and Carly had shared a lot … he had a lot of dirt on her … he didn’t want to get hit, so he wouldn’t share that dirt! He then said how they had achieved a lot together: made the commitment to buy a house and a car, and care for the two fluffy children at home (two dalmations named Caesar and Cleo) …

Luke then turned to Carly, told her how much he loved her, said he wanted to spend the rest of his life with her, got down on one knee, pulled a ring box from his pocket and asked her to marry him! The answer was yes! With a gorgeous smile. From both Luke and Carly. Tears came pouring from my mother’s eyes. A big grin spread across my face. I have never seen my brother so very happy. Everyone cheered loudly … everyone, that is, except Carly’s immediate family.

Aye, thar’s the rub.

4 or so years ago Carly’s family decided that my brother was not good enough for their little girl. Oh my, he didn’t finish school (never mind that he is very intelligent with things other than the study of formal english). They decided that they didn’t like him then, and they have never made the attempt to get to know him or change their minds. They told my brother that he ruined the night by proposing. Opinions of other guests, even Carly’s aunts and uncles, indicated otherwise. The party guilty of ruining the night was, in reality, them.

At the end of the day they need to begin to come to terms with what is, inevitably, going to happen.

Luke has picked Carly.
Carly has picked Luke.

May they live the fairytale … happily ever after!

My hugest, hugest, most loving congratulations to them both!

~ by pincushiondiary on May 6, 2004.

One Response to “Here’s to the fairytale!”

  1. Hooray for Carly and Luke! Boo to Carly’s parents!

Leave a Reply

 
