the inevitable event

I always knew it was going to happen, I just wasn’t sure when …

Upon returning home from work on Friday evening, I decided that I would go for a ride. The sun was shining, the birds were chirping, and daylight savings was close to coming to an end …

I set off down my street. I rode on the footpath to avoid the traffic on the busy, narrow road. I approached the intersection where, just the day before, some motorist had plowed over the traffic light, causing traffic chaos for a few hours. I admired the shiny, new traffic lights while I tried to avoid the fragments of coloured glass on the footpath and curb. The area was covered in gravel too…

I leaned over to press the pedestrian button in order to cross the busy intersection …

… CRASH!
… OUCH!
… DAMN! Owww …

Oh, that’s right … I don’t have arms like Inspector Gadget!

I hadn’t been able to reach properly and the bike came out from under me as my sternum connected with the pedestrian button. I quickly jumped back on the bike, hoping that the motorists waiting at the intersection had not noticed the clumsy girl, who doesn’t have a very good spatial concept of her own arm length, fall off her bike and hit the pedestrian button with her chest!

I continued to ride, trying not to listen to the little voice in my head telling me to turn back and go home … After about 20 minutes the aching in my chest was significant enough that I felt sure that I wasn’t admitting defeat too quickly if I went home and sat down on the couch with an ice-pack.

The next step is getting back on the bike …

~ by pincushiondiary on March 29, 2004.

2 Responses to “the inevitable event”

  1. Ouch!

  2. For the record, my chiropractor was very sympathetic when I went to visit him in order to get the shooting pain in my arm fixed … apparently I had nudged my collarbone ever so slightly out of place.
    I don’t have any visible battle scars though …
    The shooting pain in my arm is better now too.
    Time to get back on the bike …

Comments are closed.

 
