I swear it was an accident!

I tried to de discreet.
I tried to stand to the side of the group.
I tried to direct the attention on to others more deserving of the ‘prize’.
I TRIED to think happy thoughts and fly to distant lands.
Alas … It could not be done.

The prize sailed through the air.
It was poised to hit the floor with a thud.
It was all I could do not to reach out my hand to catch it … ahh, the bouquet.

It is with great displeasure that I announce that I caught the bouquet at my cousin’s wedding on the weekend.
For the record, there was no tackling or squealing and certainly no ‘Mark of the Century’ to be seen.
Some would say I was simply in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Many in my family have already started planning the nuptials.
One small, minor, insignificant even, detail … a groom.

~ by pincushiondiary on March 9, 2004.

2 Responses to “I swear it was an accident!”

  1. I thought the last time I saw you, you were wearing a really big fat diamond ring???

  2. Perhaps the powers that be are trying to tell me something … Must be super-suspicious if I start meeting lots of new men.

Comments are closed.

 
