Crockenbush

Does anyone else call a cake (generally a wedding cake, or cake for a significant occasion) made from a tower of profiteroles drizzled with toffee and decorated with strawberries a ‘crockenbush’?
I mentioned such a creation whilst eating a profiterole at the house of a friend the other day (made by his housemate; perhaps the one redeeming feature of the housemate from my brief interaction with him and from having heard the moans of my friend with regard to said housemate) and I could not think of the word.
Tonight I saw profiteroles being served at a restaurant and the word came to me. Now, getting on line to check the spelling of the word, I have found no reference to it in wikipedia (even after checking the entry for profiteroles), no return from typing it in dictionary dot com, and only three yields in a google search, two of which were from the same site (in reference to a wedding cake recipe offered at a reception centre) and one was from someone else’s blog. This blog entry will be google return #4 under the search for ‘crockenbush”. Actually, I’m off to try that ..!
Let me know if anyone else uses this word and what the history/origin of it might be. Otherwise, I may just adopt it into my lingo as a new swear word…

~ by pincushiondiary on August 29, 2006.

5 Responses to “Crockenbush”

  1. Have just checked it on google.co.uk and found several entries, mainly on Scottish websites. So it is my belief that it is probablly a Scottish word. These Scots have some really bizzare words, for ezample I learnt today that they don’t use podiatrist, rather they use a word which elludes me now. I quite often have a blank look ‘come again’ at some of the words my boss comes out with.

  2. YES! My mother is actually booked to making a wedding crockenbush for a friend of ours in late Sept. It’s definitely crockenbush. Checked in a couple of cookbooks.

    http://www.nht.com.au/recipe/13 – nice pic of one, though I personally think that’s an ugly version. I’ve seen towering masterpieces of the things all glittery with toffee spiderweb all over the outside. Loads of fun to eat.

  3. I knew I didn’t just make it up!
    Actually, the friend who was part of the conversation thought it very weird on Friday night when I said “Crockenbush!” in the middle of our conversation. He couldn’t believe that I’d remembered the desire to remember the word to the point where I remembered to mention it to him …

  4. Try it with a “q”…. “croquenbush” with an “n” is what the Americans call it, but it’s French so they’ve mutated the word in true Yankee fashion. It should be Croquembouche! Remember to roll your rrrrrs as required!

  5. Yes, defintiely croquembouche! see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croquembouche
    have been practising my fake french accent in order to be understood on the phone today…

Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

